Pet Peeve #087: All Or Nothing

All or nothing doesn’t work well in reality. It’s a little selfish and irresponsible. Being all or nothing means that I quit a lot of things. I quit things that I don’t see myself continuing. I cut out people. As long as I don’t or can’t see continuing it in the long run or if it’s giving me bad vibes, I will cut it off.

I mean sure, if you’re talking about toxic people, having this trait is pretty useful.

But if you’re talking about holding down a job, then it’s completely useless. If I don’t see a career advancement or if I dislike my role/responsibilities, I will get in my head that I absolutely cannot continue in that job. I most definitely HAVE to quit – even with the risk of losing income stability and the uncertainty that I might not secure a job before I run out of my savings.

I hate not doing well in my job, I hate that I am not being the best that I know I can be. If I am not, then why bother? I would usually feel it’s better to quit. Tsk, tsk, tsk.

It’s infuriating to be like this.

I need to learn that sometimes a job is just a job. A job brings in the money. Sure, we all want fulfillment, but sometimes just money will do for now.

I can do this.

Sullen

Leave a comment